ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Changing the length of a line over time based off external data

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects Expressions

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Angela Ravi
Changing the length of a line over time based off external data
on Feb 22, 2019 at 9:27:26 pm

Hi,
So I'm fairly new to after effects and I'm trying to use a JSON file to pull data from and change the length of a line. So say I have data that reads.

I want the length of the line to match the data as time progresses. So the line starts of being 0px and after a second then grows to 50 px , after a second it grows to 100 and after a second it becomes 10. all the while smoothly animating between these values.

Could someone tell me what the best way to do this would be? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Angela

Return to posts index

Scott McGee
Re: Changing the length of a line over time based off external data
on Feb 22, 2019 at 10:41:32 pm

So there's 2 ways you could do this. (Haven't tested these. So you may have to tweak if they don't work)

If your Json was to look like this.

"One" : 0,
"Two" : 50,
"Three" : 100,
"Four" : 10

First way allows to change timings based on keyframes. So set up your keyframes and add the below expression to the element you wish to animate.

txt = footage("Country.json").sourceData;

Key(1).value = txt.One;
Key(2).value = txt.Two;
Key(3).value = txt.Three;
Key(4).value = txt.Four;

Alternatively you can (found this on rocketstock. Again not tested)

a = txt.One;
b = txt.Two;
c = txt.Three;
d = txt.Four;

ease(time,inPoint,inPoint+1,[a],[b]) + ease(time,inPoint+1,inPoint+2,[b],[c]) + ease(time,inPoint+2,inPoint+3,[c],[d]);

Hopefully one of those does the trick for you.

Return to posts index

Angela Ravi
on Feb 23, 2019 at 11:30:30 am