ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

layer spacing

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects Expressions

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Brian Holzknecht
layer spacing
on Jan 22, 2019 at 7:40:51 pm

So I've asked this question a couple years ago, and unfortunately I only got one response and it didn't quite work for what I was trying to do. At the time I just did a work around and made it work, but now I'm hoping someone can help me with it again.

First off, I'm not very good with after effects expressions, but I do love the idea of being able to build little systems with them, so I spend a lot of time with trial and error and usually I'm able to figure things out, but this has got me stumped.

its basically a bar graph setup. My setup is 2 null object called "TR" & "BL" that defines the top left and bottom right area my layers stay in. Each bar layer is named "bar 1, bar 2, bar 3, etc...). Currently I can add any number of bars and they all stay within that area with even spacing between each, centered within the box. I would like to be able to add additional spacing between every 3rd, 4th or 5th... bar using a slider control. basically I would want to add two sliders one that defines how many bars should be in a group and one that adds this additional spacing.

I figured I needed to use the modulus operator in some way and probably a for loop to add the spacing to each layer, but honestly I'm completely stuck. The last time I posted this question the solution was to name the layers differently but that kind of defeats the purpose. the expression below is what I currently have on all my layers x position. Also maybe there is a more efficient/better way to do what I'm doing, but this is currently working for me. I'm pretty sure I have way too many parenthesis as well, but I haven't cleaned it up yet.

Thanks in advance

Brian Holzknecht

barNum = thisLayer.name.split("bar ")[1];