ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Scaling resizing text box

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects Expressions

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Sherlock Polmes
Scaling resizing text box
on Dec 26, 2018 at 7:02:13 pm

Hi, I'm trying to replicate this animation with expressions but I'm not very good with them.

1 - How can I simulate the typewriting effect automatically with the range selector, for example every second it has to show 10 words
2 - How can I paste the text in the middle of the text box without align the box every time (the baseline in the middle)
3 - How can the yellow line grown following the text
4 - How can the yellow line start the animation when the typewriting effect is finished
5 - How can the mask follow the yellow line
6 - How can I understand when the all animation is finished, for example, when the yellow line disappear, it appears a marker

Please help me, thanks a lot 🐮❤

Return to posts index

Kalleheikki Kannisto
Re: Scaling resizing text box
on Dec 27, 2018 at 9:30:45 am

Since it is a fairly complex set of expressions, if you need someone to write the full expression, you'd likely have more success by hiring someone to do it. It will likely take hours to write, test and debug.

If you are attempting to do this yourself, here are some pointers numbered based on your questions:

0) In general, everything is tied to the Time variable.

1) The key properties here are time and the length of the text. You'd move the range selector end based on time, and the speed at which you move it depends on the number of characters or words in the text.

2) If you mean vertical centering, there are several threads in this forums about the expressions that achieves this.