ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

time remapping expressions taking FOREVER to render

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects Expressions

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Anna Hahn
time remapping expressions taking FOREVER to render
on Dec 23, 2018 at 6:45:21 pm

Hello

So I am relatively new to working with time remapping expressions but I have been receiving advice from some people on this forum as well as others and currently have a set of expressions for jumping between random points in a clip and creating fades between the jump cuts- the expressions are working beautifully BUT are taking FOOORREEEVERRR to render~~~ I'm confused because jumping between random points in the timeline and creating opacity fades seems like it wouldn't be particularly computationally taxing- however for some reason these take forever to render with codec settings that take just a few seconds to render out anything else

My setup is this:

two copies of the same clip stacked ontop of each other

TOP LAYER
time remap expression=

segDur = .69;// duration of each "segment" of random time
minVal = inPoint;
maxVal = outPoint - segDur;
seed = Math.floor(time/segDur);
segStart = seed*segDur;
seedRandom(seed,true);
startVal = random(minVal,maxVal);
endVal = startVal + segDur;
linear(time,segStart,segStart + segDur, startVal, endVal);

opacity expression=
segDur = .69;
fadeDur = .77;
t = time%segDur;
linear(t,0,fadeDur,0,100);

BOTTOM LAYER

time remap expression=
fadeDur = .77;
thisComp.layer(index-1).timeRemap.valueAtTime(time - fadeDur) + fadeDur

I have even tried converting all expressions to keyframes and it still produces ridiculously large render times- 1 hour + for 1 minute of footage