ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Having trouble with Time Displacement effect and expressions

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects Expressions

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Thomas Forest
Having trouble with Time Displacement effect and expressions
on Nov 25, 2018 at 8:11:21 am

Hi,

First of all, I'm pretty new to After Effects, so I don't know a lot about expressions. I'm currently trying to put together a raining code effect like we see in the Matrix movies, but with ants instead of letters and symbols. So my problem goes like this:

I started out by following this tutorial with good results, until I hit a roadblock at the 13:17 timestamp. Here, he adds an adjustment layer to his composition so he can use a Time Displacement effect on it, using luminosity values of the pixels from the ReTimeMap layer (in the same comp) to kind of randomize the glyphs of the MatrixStrip layer. It gives a great visual effect and is exactly what I want to accomplish.

The thing is, his MatrixStrip comp is only a text layer on which he applies an Animator with its Character Offset property set up to be time dependent using this expression: time*2

Mine is a PNG sequence of 10 frames, with a different ant on each one, on which I apply the posted expression to randomize the order in which they appear. It works great for a single MatrixStrip, but when I try to put many together and apply the Time Displacement effect the way he did, nothing happens. I've tried making that expression time-dependent in a lot of different ways, but to no avail. I've also tried using comp("MatrixStrip").layer("AdjustmentLayer").time to try and get the "displaced" time, but it didn't work either. I'm running out of ideas.