ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

control path length using expressions

COW Forums : Color Grading

VIEW ALL   •   PRINT
Tom Morton
control path length using expressions
on Aug 16, 2018 at 10:20:29 am

Hello, I'm a bit new to expressions (yeah same old story, beginners trying their luck!) I can work fine with expressions, but I want to control the length of a path. I can control anchor point, position, etc easily, but not sure how path length is selected in an expression? Is it a length or does a path run between two points?

Cheers, Tom

Return to posts index

Dan Ebberts
Re: control path length using expressions
on Aug 16, 2018 at 4:15:00 pm

You have to redefine the path, using createPath(v,iT,oT,c), specifying matrices of vertices, in tangents, and out tangents, as well as a boolean flag specifying whether the path is closed or not.

Dan

Return to posts index

Tom Morton
on Aug 21, 2018 at 7:46:31 am

Thanks Dan, that sounds like what I'm looking for. Are the any good tutorials / explanations online showing how to format that expression correctly? I can't use trim paths because the length of the path will change and I can't get it accurate enough.

Regards,

Tom Morton | Digital Everything

If it can be automated, let the computer take the load. Creativity leads creativity.

Return to posts index

Andy Engelkemier
on Sep 5, 2019 at 8:03:33 pm

Ah, yikes. Is there an example of this?

My issue is I'm animating several lines with different length. The "speed" all looks the same because it's just moving the trim path, but that's based on a percentage.

It's a real shame that AE didn't include a path length variable so you could use that in expressions without having to create the complicated math every time. At least, that's what I'm finding.