ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

parent layer vs position expression

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects Expressions

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Scott McGee
parent layer vs position expression
on Aug 14, 2018 at 10:25:38 am

I've never tried this before and completely stumped on how to do this other than by parenting.

I have a group of circles that rotate based on an anchor point, other than using a null with a delay and few other bits. I've animated my circles that then stop in this position.

I want my text to sit on top and using 0 - thisComp.layer(x).rotation, to keep the text horizontally.

no when I use a position expression it's using position/anchorpoint, which I know why it's doing that, but is there an expression that to get the actually position of the shape layer? So it's like this.

Otherwise I'll just continue to use parenting.

Return to posts index

Kalleheikki Kannisto
Re: parent layer vs position expression
on Aug 14, 2018 at 1:32:16 pm

Depending on what else is happening in your comp, this either works or it doesn't...

A few prereqs:
1) The anchor point of the text layer is centered on the text layer and
2) the original position of the text is at the anchor point of the shape layer,

That being the original situation, the text layer position follows the rotation value of "Ellipse 1" in the shape layer with this:

xd = thisComp.layer("Shape Layer 1").content("Ellipse 1").transform.position[0];
yd = thisComp.layer("Shape Layer 1").content("Ellipse 1").transform.position[1];
xd *= xd;
yd *= yd;
d = Math.sqrt(xd+yd);
xpos = -d * Math.sin(degreesToRadians(thisComp.layer("Shape Layer 1").transform.rotation));
ypos = d * Math.cos(degreesToRadians(thisComp.layer("Shape Layer 1").transform.rotation));
value-[xpos, ypos]

So, essentially, were adding the position transformation of the rotating Ellipse 1 to the position of the text layer.

Kalleheikki Kannisto
Senior Graphic Designer