ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Dimetric Shapes - How do I create "Diagonal/Z-axis" motion?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects Expressions

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Hafeez Zainalabidin
Dimetric Shapes - How do I create "Diagonal/Z-axis" motion?
on Aug 8, 2018 at 11:11:01 am

Hey fellas,

I'm relatively new to After Effects (4 years on and off, mostly freelance stuff) and new to expressions in general. So I have a dimetric object that I created using regular shape layers and adjusted using the SSR (Scale, Skew, Rotate) method. For the purposes of this post let's assume that it's a regular cube in dimetric view.

I'm automating the object such that the height, width and depth of the object can be controlled by a null. I modified the expressions used in this video (since I'm creating a dimetric and not a true isometric object, so it's a 20 degree skew from the horizontal axis) :

But instead of having the point of origin in the bottom vertex like in the video, I changed it such that the object "grows" from the lower left corner vertex of the object. This way, in theory the object should be able to extend positively on the dimetric "Z-axis" instead of negatively like in the video.

So what I've managed to achieve is to control the extrusions of the Left and Top faces of the cube on all the axes (Height, Width and Depth) , but I'm having a problem with the Right face. It grows fine vertically, but I can't seem to find a way to get it to move diagonally along that Z space at the same rate as the growth of the top and left faces.

I probably should provide screenshots or a project for reference but I'm not at work. But if you managed to understand everything I've said above, any help would be appreciated. I'm splitting hairs over here trying to figure this out!

Return to posts index

Kalleheikki Kannisto
Re: Dimetric Shapes - How do I create "Diagonal/Z-axis" motion?
on Aug 8, 2018 at 5:09:55 pm