ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Random Opacity Change (lights on and off skyline)

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects Expressions

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Reynoud van der Molen
Random Opacity Change (lights on and off skyline)
on Mar 10, 2018 at 4:21:47 pm

Hi Guys and Girls,

For a project to bring a Skyline to live, i have several hunderd window layers which should turn on and off in a random pattern, like people are coming and going.
For this I would like the opacity to go 100 or 0 at random moments. Now I have tried and searched, but now it's just guessing, so I could use some help from the expression wizards. NOTE: I am a beginner with expressions.
The composition exist out of a master composition, with a Precomp for the windows, and in that precomp multiple precomps to seperate the buildings.

So I found this Expression from Dan at: https://forums.creativecow.net/thread/227/24412
seedRandom(index,true);
t = random(thisComp.duration);
ease(time,t,t+thisComp.frameDuration*24,0,100)

Which works great, make a perfect pattern, because each lights has a unique moment of going on, and you can even make them fade. Or off if you change the last piece of the code to:

seedRandom(index,true);
t = random(thisComp.duration);
ease(time,t,t+thisComp.frameDuration*24,100,0)

My problem is that the composition is 30min long, so lights should go On and Off more than 1 time. So I tried the following:

holdTime = 6; //time to hold (seconds)
seed = Math.floor(time/holdTime);
seedRandom(seed,true);
Math.round (random())*100

Which works but it's a static interval, so which window is going on or off is random. But they change together, therefore it looks unnatural. So then I tried to make the interval random, so each window would have unique moment of going on or off like in the first expression, and made this:

seedRandom(Math.floor(time/200), timeless = true);
holdTime = random(100,200);
seedRandom(seed,true);