ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Script to pull in a local image to project panel keeps forcing new project - I'd like to import to current project

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects Expressions

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
David Hawkins
Script to pull in a local image to project panel keeps forcing new project - I'd like to import to current project
on Mar 6, 2018 at 12:18:28 pm

Hey guys,

Script newbie here and would appreciate any help.

The current script - which was previously used in Photoshop by someone else - imports a downloaded image (location) to the project panel.

function OpenDocument(location) {
return app.open(new File(location));
}

Right now a selected image is downloaded via a panel (Pixabay image API). It downloads fine and then is immediately seen in the project panel, but either a new untitled project has been created automatically (if current project is saved), or I get the "Save changes to 'untitled project' before closing?" prompt.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. I'll be honest, I don't completely understand what the code is doing - just hunches. I simply want the downloaded image to appear in the project panel of current project - no questions asked.

Return to posts index

Dan Ebberts
Re: Script to pull in a local image to project panel keeps forcing new project - I'd like to import to current project
on Mar 6, 2018 at 5:05:50 pm

Something like this, probably:

var myFilePath = "/c/test/test.png";
var myImportOptions = new ImportOptions();
var myFile = File(myFilePath);
myImportOptions.file = myFile;
app.project.importFile(myImportOptions);

Dan

Return to posts index

David Hawkins
Re: Script to pull in a local image to project panel keeps forcing new project - I'd like to import to current project
on Mar 6, 2018 at 7:40:40 pm