ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Moving position over time and wiggle position

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects Expressions

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Danial Monson-Bergum
Moving position over time and wiggle position
on Jan 22, 2018 at 3:57:26 am

Hi all!

The content you all post on CC here is so beneficial. I always learn something new, thanks! This is my first time posting though. I'm new to AE and wet behind the ears using expressions.

I'd like to use an expression to control the position of 2D layers of various duration in a 1920x1080/24fps composition, such that they enter the composition window from "off screen," then remain in the center of the composition window and wiggle for a duration, and finally exit the composition window.

My thought is that this may be accomplished with if/else. I think that if time is greater than or equal to the layer's in point, then the layer should take a half a second to move from "off screen" to [960, 540]. Or else, if time is greater than or equal to half a second after the layer's in point, then then the layer should wiggle. Or else, if time is greater than or equal to half a second before the layer's out point, then the layer should move from [960, 540] to "off screen."

I'm guessing I'm off base, and I'm not even sure how to set this up if it is possible. (Note: it so happens that the layers are "staggered," so the "exiting" motion could usefully employ the in point of one lesser index).

Thanks for any suggestions, or for a reality check if need be. 🐮😳

Return to posts index

Matt Volp
Re: Moving position over time and wiggle position
on Jan 23, 2018 at 3:58:17 am

This should do it:

inDur = 0.5 // duration of in animation
wiggleDur = 0.5; // duration of wiggle
outDur = 0.5 // duration of out animation
layerWidth = thisLayer.sourceRectAtTime().width; // layer width
layerHeight = thisLayer.sourceRectAtTime().height; // layer height