ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Year Countdown on keyframes expression (With individual digits NOT text layer based)

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects Expressions

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Clive Lythgoe
Year Countdown on keyframes expression (With individual digits NOT text layer based)
on Sep 28, 2017 at 5:00:18 am

I've created a countdown clock from 2017 to 1980 that triggers on keyframes.
I have a 10 frame comp for each digit which runs from 0 to 9 (4 comps in total).
These are then placed into a main comp.
Then I have a slider control which is driving the change for each digit/related comp based up me entering the keyframes for each year..
Main comp and digit comps are all 60FPS
I'm an expression beginner and used expressions given in a tutorial (each expression on a time remap for each digit comp).

However, something is not right as the year and decade digits jump from 5 to 3, missing out the four for example.
I think the problem is the above expressions are based on second calculations for a time not year countdown.

Have trawled through forum/google but can't seem to find a solution.
Would really appreciate help I'm up against a tight deadline.
Thanks for a great community, my first post but this forum has helped me immensely.

Clive.

For year digit
thisComp.layer("Time Slider").effect("Slider Control")("Slider")%10*thisComp.frameDuration

For decade of years digit
thisComp.layer("Time Slider").effect("Slider Control")("Slider")/10%10*thisComp.frameDuration

For century digit
thisComp.layer("Time Slider").effect("Slider Control")("Slider")/100%10*thisComp.frameDuration

For millenium digit
thisComp.layer("Time Slider").effect("Slider Control")("Slider")/1000%10*thisComp.frameDuration

Return to posts index

Liran Tabib
Re: Year Countdown on keyframes expression (With individual digits NOT text layer based)
on Sep 28, 2017 at 4:03:48 pm

Hi Clive