ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

using an expression on a slider to control visibility of layers inside a precomp

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects Expressions

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
alex uragallo
using an expression on a slider to control visibility of layers inside a precomp
on Sep 21, 2017 at 10:57:22 am

Hello

I'm very new to writing expressions. I have a project where I have over 100 pictures that need to animate in. To save time and incase the client changes their mind i wanted to use an expression to turn on and off each layer via opacity.
The heirachy is as follows,
--Main Comp - Contains Precomp B and an adjustment layer with a slider attached
--- Precomp B - Contains Precomp A which has been animated in this comp
-----Precomp A - Contains All the images.

My plan was to use the slider 0-100 numbers to select which picture i would like to see, so basically use the slider as a selector which i can animate

I cant seem to find much online about it and would love any help anyone has to offer!

cheers

Return to posts index

Scott McGee
Re: using an expression on a slider to control visibility of layers inside a precomp
on Sep 21, 2017 at 11:29:03 am

Precomp A - Inside Precomp A, set all images to 1 frame each
Main Comp - Add Null object, doesn't really matter what you add, but a Null is invisible. Then add a slider to the Null.
Precomp B - Add time Remap to Precomp A, with the following expression below.

sliderPos = comp("Main Comp").layer("Null").effect("Slider Control")("Slider");
framesToTime((Math.round(sliderPos)))

I'm going based off memory at the moment, but that should work for you.

Return to posts index

alex uragallo
Re: using an expression on a slider to control visibility of layers inside a precomp
on Sep 21, 2017 at 1:28:36 pm

Thanks Scott!

this works! however another issue has arisen.