ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

2 Random numbers - even and odd seconds

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects Expressions

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Karel Hejkal
2 Random numbers - even and odd seconds
on Aug 17, 2017 at 10:26:47 am

Hello, I am fairly new to Expressions as I do animate mostly with the graphic only. I would like to ask you for a help.

What I try to do us something like rolling random numbers, similar to car odometer - please see the image, it will be random numbers that at the end will become the advent dates.

For that I need many numbers to roll down (0-9 or 0-999, that does not matter at the moment, not sure whether I will roll them independently or together). Right now I roll the row together.

So I have to generate them in the exact times - lets say every 2 seconds - and move from from top to bottom of the counter. That is what I can achieve (googled the code).

But I need more then one row of digits - when one row of numbers starts to disappear, the other slowly appears - otherwise there are long blank spaces on the roll.

And here is the problem - both rows randomly change at the same time. No matter how I move layers on the TL.

So I have to somehow offset the other row change interval in time for one second. To change, when the row is "hidden" . Is there a way how make the code being offset in the time for random number of seconds (or frames, which would need the expression to be bit different probably)?

Thanks a lot if anyone helps.

var holdTime = 2;
seedRandom(Math.floor(time/holdTime), timeless = true);
random(0,9);

Return to posts index

Kevin Camp
Re: 2 Random numbers - even and odd seconds
on Aug 17, 2017 at 5:41:40 pm

you could try making the time related to the inPoint of the layer rather than just comp time....

try this:
var holdTime = 2;
t = Math.max( 0, time - inPoint );
seedRandom(Math.floor(t/holdTime), timeless = true);
random(0,9);