ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Expression to change color of a text layer based on amplitude of audio layer

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects Expressions

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Alfred Hammer
Expression to change color of a text layer based on amplitude of audio layer
on Aug 6, 2017 at 5:48:26 pm

Hello,

I'm trying to create a text layer that changes color with every snare drum hit using a while loop that increments a flag variable when the amplitude crosses a certain threshold and then use an if else if ladder to assign different rgb values for each of the flag values. It doesnt work at all as intended, it just switches between the colors. I'm a beginner with expressions and cant for the life of me figure out what is wrong as the logic seems to be okay. I would be extremely grateful for a correction or an alternate approach.

Thank you

//x<10000 to prevent ae from thinking this is an infinite loop and getting a time out
//c to account for the fact that a drum hit lasts for more than 1 frame

op=thisComp.layer("Amp").effect("Sound Keys")("Output 1");
flag=0
x=0
c=0

R=1
G=1
B=1
A=1

while(x<10000)
{

if((op>60)&&(c==0))
{
flag++;
c=1;}
else if((op<60)&&(c==1))
{
c=0;
}

if(flag==0)
{
R=0
G=0.8
B=linear(op,0,80,.4,.8);
A=1
}
else if(flag==1)
{
R=1
G=0
B=0
A=1
}
else
{
R=0
G=0
B=0
A=0
}
x++
[R,G,B,A]
}

Return to posts index

Dan Ebberts
Re: Expression to change color of a text layer based on amplitude of audio layer
on Aug 6, 2017 at 6:31:01 pm

I can't tell exactly how you want this to work, but it appears (forgive me if I'm wrong) that you may not be aware that expressions have no memory. That is, nothing persists from frame to frame. At any given frame, you can look at past (or future) pre-expression values of the property using valueAtTime(), but you can't save any calculations for later use.

Dan

Return to posts index

Alfred Hammer