ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Script to change composition length depending on the length of a layer

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects Expressions

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Ole Peters
Script to change composition length depending on the length of a layer
on Oct 29, 2015 at 4:34:57 pm

Hello,
I'm really new to scripting and want to write a script which trims the Main composition depending to the length of the layer from another comp. I already have this:
var mComp = app.project.activeItem; //Set a variable equal to the active music composition
var mLayer = mComp.selectedLayers[0]; //Set a variable for the selected layer

if (mComp) {
if (mLayer) {

} else {
alert("Please select the song layer inside the music composition")
}
} else {

}

I know I could just leave out the mComp if statement but oh well.
Cheers

Return to posts index

Ole Peters
Re: Script to change composition length depending on the length of a layer
on Oct 30, 2015 at 12:03:37 am
Last Edited By Ole Peters on Oct 30, 2015 at 12:08:46 am

Since no one replied yet and I'm still hoping for at least Dan to reply I thought I'd rewrite the question. I really need to get that script to work, so please..

I have a Project file with multiple compositions, 2 of those named "Music" and "Main".
I'm in the Music composition and the script is supposed to be executed inside of the Music composition while having the song layer selected. Now I want the script to take the length of the song layer and trim the Main composition to the length of the song. Also, onClick doesn't seem to work.
I have a basic GUI with a button and the onClick line would be for example this:
tabContainer1.onClick = function () {alert("Hello World")} I don't get anything though, when pressing the button.

Again, I really need to get this to work and would really really appreciate if someone could help me out with this..

Return to posts index

Dan Ebberts