ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Text Blinking On Expression

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects Expressions

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Mike Moon
Text Blinking On Expression
on Mar 28, 2014 at 10:55:18 pm

Hello All,

I'm not very good with expressions and I wanted to know if there were any expressions for text that would make them randomly blink on. Kind of like how a flourescent light would when you first turn it on but randomly with random text?

Return to posts index

George Goodman
Re: Text Blinking On Expression
on Mar 31, 2014 at 2:06:37 pm

In order to change how frequently it shuts on and off, just change the first wiggle value. The bigger that number, the faster it should flicker.

Set your opacity to 50 then put this expression in it:

on=100;
off=0;
x=wiggle(10,50)
if (x>50) on else off

"|_ (°_0) _|"

Sincerely,

George

Return to posts index

Mike Moon
on Apr 2, 2014 at 11:11:11 pm

Hmm, my question was more in regard to each individual letters blinking on and off randomly till they are all lit. I was wondering if there was an AE text animation preset that does that? Thanks.

Return to posts index

George Goodman
on Apr 3, 2014 at 1:50:55 pm

Ok, gotchya. There is probably a better way, but this will work.

-Take your text layer, right click, and convert to shapes.
-Open up the shape layer and go to the transform>opacity section of each letter, set it to 50, and enter the expression below. (not the one where I explain things, obviously)

Here is how to alter it for different results

on=100;
off=0;
x=wiggle(10,50); - Change the 10 to a larger number for faster blinking, or lower for slower
r=random(9);