ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Lower third bar length expression

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects Expressions

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
alex judson
Lower third bar length expression
on Sep 19, 2013 at 6:45:25 pm

Hi all, I'm new to scripting and am having quite a bit of trouble trying to figure this one out. Any help would be appreciated.

I am trying to create a lower third bar that will cover a change of text underneath it. It needs to be modular to cover different lengths of messages, and be easy/quick to change from one length to another.

What I have so far is a comp "MATTE_LENGTH" with 5 layers (1X_BAR, 2X_BAR, 3X_BAR…) that have position keyframes in X-axis. Each layer has different keyframes to get a solid to move across the frame and back at custom lengths/timings. In the main comp "BAR_WIPE" I have the nested "MATTE_LENGTH" pre-comp, another pre-comp "BAR" with a simple solid bar that does not animate and a third "MATTE" layer. The "BAR" layer uses the "MATTE" layer as a matte. The "MATTE" layer has this expression on the X Position attribute:

comp("MATTE_LENGTH").layer("5X_BAR").transform.xPosition

This works well, but I have 2 problems. If I slide any of the layers in the main comp, all the timings come from the comp "MATTE LENGTH" and I lose the animation. Also I have to manually change the expression to adjust the length to 1X_BAR, 2X_BAR, 3X_BAR… etc. and this leaves room for error. Is there a way to control the lengths from a checkbox or slider control? and is there a way to add a start time to the expression?

here is a link to the aep:
https://www.hightail.com/download/OGhmV284Q1BrWThLSk1UQw

Thanks in advance,
Alex

Return to posts index

Kevin Camp
Re: Lower third bar length expression
on Sep 21, 2013 at 9:32:13 pm