ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Amazingly slow renders with CS5 on I7 8 core

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects Expressions

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jean Piche
Amazingly slow renders with CS5 on I7 8 core
on May 15, 2010 at 9:58:16 pm

Hi folks,

I am picking up a post about rendering on new Apple machines with CS5. I obtained gracious and helpful responses from this board a couple of weeks ago about the same problem. However, after trying all sorts of things, rendering speeds are now even worse. So i am starting to wonder what is going on.

I am a ten year AFX veteran, by no means the most advanced but competent enough to know if I do something stupid.

My hardware:

Month old machine, MacPro I7 2.93GHz 8/16 cores, 32Gb of RAM, 8Tb of Disk space (new drives)

Settings:
I have tried just about all possible settings. The fastest I can tell is this:

Render multiple frames is on.
Dedicated CPUs: 10 (out of 16 virtual).
Dedicated RAM per core: 2 Gb
Cache on or off makes no differene

Project:

The single source file is a 10 minute animation video @ 5760x1080p out of which the central 1920x1080 is rendered to a new file. The source file is sitting on one of the 7200rpm drive. AFX is rendering on the same drive. No layer overlaps,no effects, no lights, no 3D, no masks, no featherings of any kind, no speed manipulations.

Time required for render: 3.5 HOURS.

Admittedly this is a large source file but the disk activity monitor shows disk read/write cycles on the order of 12/15 MB per sec. which is about one fifth the capacity of the drive and using a different source file of 1920x1080 comes out the same way.

Of course I can do the same project in FCP or even in Quicktime7 edit in less than 5 minutes but something is badly amiss somewhere in my setup and I cannot find out what it is. Is it actually possible that the machine/CS5 woudl be so slow?