ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Onionskin

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects Expressions

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jonathan Shohet
Onionskin
on Dec 20, 2008 at 6:14:44 pm

Hi,

I'm in the process of creating short videos in AE from still photos sequences. Most of these sequences are shot handheld, no tripod. When the sequence is stationary, I can easily stabilize it with the motion tracker stabilizer. However, some of these sequences involve lots of camera motion, and I "stabilize" them manually, frame by frame, by changing the position/rotation/scale of each frame, until the overall camera motion in the sequence appears smooth. Don't worry, I haven't lost my mind, I'm an animator - I like working frame by frame ;-)

I used to do this in Combustion, which has a very usefull onionskin option, so that you can overlay the next/previous frame/s on top of the current frame, as reference. This really speeds things up, eliminating a lot of the guesswork as to how to allign each individual frame.

I cannot for the life of me find such an option in AE, and wondered if anyone can maybe suggest a way to achieve this with an expression.

many thanks in advance.

Return to posts index

Elad Menashe
Re: Onionskin
on Dec 21, 2008 at 7:10:24 am

For onion backwards skinning:
1) Duplicate the layer and apply Time Remapping.
2) Create an expression for the time remapping:

numOfFrames = 1;
d = numOfFrames*thisComp.frameDuration;
thisComp.layer().timeRemap.valueAtTime(time - d)

(expression may vary, I'm not in front my AE)

3) change the layer opacity.

There are easier ways:
* Duplicate the layer and shift it in time one or more keyframes and change its opacity.
* Use the Echo (or Echo Time) effect

Return to posts index

zeina elayyan
on Oct 21, 2010 at 2:13:01 pm

Hey
did you ever figure out if there is onion skinning on AE?? Im looking for it for the same reason as you,
help
:/

Zina

Return to posts index