FORUMS: list search recent posts

broadcast compression and proper pulldown

COW Forums : Compression Techniques

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jeff Carbonneau
broadcast compression and proper pulldown
on Sep 13, 2016 at 1:36:33 pm

I've been shooting and editing TV commercials for almost 20 years and constantly striving for the best image quality budget can allow. I also am well aware that proper lighting, composition, subtle camera movement are what makes the shot look filmic and not necessarily the camera. That being said there's something I've not been able to wrap my head around completely. That is proper compression workflow for the best quality and pulldown from 23.98 to 29.97 for broadcast.

I am a big fan of shooting in 23.98 as stylistically I like the way in looks compared to 29.97. The film frame rate looks great for anything web-based or shown remotely. However, I've been trying everything to retain that quality when adding pulldown when shooting 30 second spots for broadcast. And when I play them back in quicktime they look like elephant crap in the 2:3:3:2 pulldown cadence with upper first interlacing (that is the station's specs). The motion blending takes the sharpness away. Also, when I apply a simple 4:1 cadence (duplicating every fourth frame progressive) they look great because there's no blending. This is quite the conundrum because I love my 23.98 frame rate. I actually shot test shots on the same commercial shoot in 29.97 and I wasn't crazy about them. This is with proper lighting, camera movement etc.

So my question is, what is the best method when desiring to shoot 23.98 for broadcast tv? National spots and films are shot in 23.98 and the sharpness and frame blending looks fantastic when broadcast at 29.97.