FORUMS: list search recent posts

File showing wrong aspect ratio

COW Forums : Compression Techniques

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Glenn Payne
File showing wrong aspect ratio
on Aug 16, 2016 at 7:44:18 pm

I'm having a weird problem. Curious if you guys have ever dealt with this. I have a master file of my short that is ProRes 422 HQ. All looks perfect on my end. I uploaded it to Amazon Direct and once posted I noticed it was stretched out too much horizontally. It's 1920x1080 (16:9), but on their site it looked like it was a little closer to super wide screen. They said it was exactly as the original uploaded file was. I thought they'd gone crazy. My distributor said they wanted to sign it so we agreed. I sent them all the deliverables and they too said the file was stretched out too wide. When I go back and check my master file it's fine. I compared it to other rendered quicktime files and it's the same size.

There's a long story I won't bore you with about the original project file, but basically I cut the short on a pc (resolve) then got rid of that computer so now I just have the master H264 file from that program. I used compressor on my macbook pro to convert it to ProRes 422 HQ. I know that's not a desired workflow, but it's what had to happen at the time. Nonetheless the final file looks perfect on my system. I just took it to a pc laptop and opened it there and it looks correct. Any guesses as to what in the heck is going on?

Return to posts index

Craig Seeman
Re: File showing wrong aspect ratio
on Aug 16, 2016 at 8:05:48 pm

[Glenn Payne] "Nonetheless the final file looks perfect on my system."

What is doing the "looking" may be critical. You may want to check in the free version of Telestream Switch and check in its Inspector. Some players tend to "correct" for pixel aspect ratio issues and the like.

http://www.telestream.net/switch/overview.htm

Return to posts index

Glenn Payne
on Aug 16, 2016 at 8:25:46 pm