ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Yikes! Need to change pixel aspect ratio.

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Danny NeumannYikes! Need to change pixel aspect ratio.
by on May 4, 2011 at 4:12:10 pm

Hey folks, please be gentle, I'm really new to After Effects.

I created a fairly large composition in AE CS3. The dimensions are correct for the ultimate deployment (1536 x 680) but I've just discovered that my pixel aspect ratio was set incorrectly. I have it set to "D1/DV NTSC Widescreen (1.2)" and it needed to be set to "Square Pixels." So when I preview my project there are black bars top and bottom. When I change the pixel aspect ratio of my compositions to "Square Pixels" it literally cuts off my content on both sides. Gah. I don't have the time to rebuild the entire project!

Any suggestions? All help is much appreciated. Thanks!

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Yikes! Need to change pixel aspect ratio.
by on May 4, 2011 at 4:49:31 pm

Relax. It's not a disaster, but it won't be an automatic deal.

Make a new 1536 x 680, Square-pixel comp. Open your existing comp. Select all the layers, then paste them in the new comp. You'll have some rearranging to do, but you can't help that: the screen aspect ratios of these two comps are very different indeed, due to the difference in pixel aspect ratios. So you have no choice but to change your layout.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Danny NeumannRe: Yikes! Need to change pixel aspect ratio.
by on May 4, 2011 at 4:51:00 pm

OK, thanks much, Dave. Really appreciate the quick reply!

Return to posts index

Kevin CampRe: Yikes! Need to change pixel aspect ratio.
by on May 4, 2011 at 4:56:22 pm

[Danny Neumann] "When I change the pixel aspect ratio of my compositions to "Square Pixels" it literally cuts off my content on both sides."