ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Paint transition effect

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Kate BroadhurstPaint transition effect
by on May 4, 2011 at 10:31:23 am

Can anyone help me? I really don't know anything about aftereffects at all but I'm trying to create transitions between animated sequences and would really like to use this sort of painting out effect... Does anyone know how it would be done?

As simple instructions as possible would be much appreciated as I'm a complete novice!

Return to posts index

Joseph W. BourkeRe: Paint transition effect
by on May 4, 2011 at 1:35:05 pm

Although the transitions look somewhat painterly, there's also a pixelated feel to them, making me guess that they were done frame by frame in maybe Photoshop. Many of the other images look Rotoscoped, and none of this is a job for a beginner, although, that said, there's no better place to start learning than at the bottom step.

I would suggest you Google rotoscoping, paint effects, and other such searches to find tutorials on the topic. I recently ran across a paint program called Artrage (80 dollars for the top end version), and with a tablet, it does some amazing natural media looks. Although it's not animatable (in the software), I could see it being used frame by frame to make some really nice natural media work. Good luck!

Joe Bourke
Owner/Creative Director
Bourke Media

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Paint transition effect
by on May 4, 2011 at 2:38:12 pm

[Kate Broadhurst] "As simple instructions as possible would be much appreciated as I'm a complete novice!"

Here are the simplest instructions I can offer: don't try this if you're a novice. As Joe says, that is some very sophisticated work. There are no easy ways to do it. An individual would have to spend months devising a step-by-step technique for a novice.