ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Smoke Particles ?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Randall OelerichSmoke Particles ?
by on Apr 26, 2011 at 3:16:25 pm

I want to create a dark smoke particle system (an 'entity') for a short film, dark smoke emanating from bathroom mirror and moving across the bathroom to shower. Do I need to buy Particular 2 software plugin for Adobe After Effects,
or can Adobe hand what I need done without my buying the plugin?

I watched Andrew Kramer's tutorial #107 (Green Smoke) on this type of effect, i.e. smoke,
and he talks about the Particle 2 Plugin used for the smoke.

I can get the plugin for $200 academic price, but if I don't need it I will gladly save my cash. But if the plugin will really make the effect easier to accomplish (I am a complete After Effects amateur, although I have played with the AE particle system somewhat) or better then it is worth it to me to buy it.

Return to posts index

Tudor "Ted" JelescuRe: Smoke Particles ?
by on Apr 26, 2011 at 4:03:29 pm

Particular is a great plugin to have and learn to use. It will allow for you to do what you are after and so much more. I for one think it should be a must know/have for every AE artist.

Tudor "Ted" Jelescu
Senior VFX Artist

Return to posts index

Randall OelerichRe: Smoke Particles ?
by on Apr 26, 2011 at 4:12:43 pm

EDIT: Hoofed it out of the cow field here and googled Particular 2 rain, and lo and behold the plugin does appear to do nice CGI rain. Okay I am sold, will be buying Trapcode Partcular 2!
:) randall