ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

darken background

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Sarah Fledderdarken background
by on Apr 22, 2011 at 3:24:58 pm

Hello there,
So I shot a series of interviews with 7Ds, two angles. I liked the way the side angle turned out, the front angle looks like tie-dye mania. I want to darken out the background on the front angle so that it is not noticeable/ doesn't clash with clothing.
I am fairly new to AE, but I know my way around it just fine. Can you suggest some options, the simplest way to do this? Reshooting is not an option. Thank you!!!!

Side angle:

Front angle:

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: darken background
by on Apr 22, 2011 at 4:22:32 pm

You'll need to separate the subject from the background to darken the background-only layer. My question is this:How accurate does it have to be?

I can think of a quick 'n dirty way involving feathered, animated mattes on the subject-only layer that would leave a little edge of brightness around the subject, and which wouldn't necessarily move in sync with the subject.

If accuracy counts, you could try AE 10's Rotobrush on this, but be warned: YOU CAN NOT USE ROTOBRUSH INTUITIVELY. You have to look at tutorials and read the documentation:

http://help.adobe.com/en_US/aftereffects/cs/using/WS3bf812c123007fb8513559d...

Or you could resort to the time and pain of Rotoscoping:
http://help.adobe.com/en_US/aftereffects/cs/using/WS39e706a46ad531be1172e08...

Adobe tends to write its documentation as if it's being read only by software engineers. So you have to read it carefully.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Sarah FledderRe: darken background
by on Apr 22, 2011 at 4:50:03 pm

Hi Dave,