ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

PNG sequences VS. Quicktime

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Michael sen Guttsen
PNG sequences VS. Quicktime
on Apr 7, 2011 at 2:03:54 am

We're working on a video wall 28800 X 1080. Yes it is big. We run high end Dell PCs. My question is: would I gain any render speed if I used PNG sequences for imported clips and pre-renders, over quicktime movies.

I'm a usually a Mac but my PC tech is telling me quicktime is too hard on the system to work well. PNGs are the only format that really works with AE. He even suggests that vectors must be converted to PNGs in order to work efficiently in CS5.

Wait, whaaaat? I've been using quicktime for over 20 years. Did I miss a memo?

BTW, the video wall is for "the largest software company in the world" perhaps my PC tech is biased(?).

Guttsen

Return to posts index

Walter Soyka
Re: PNG sequences VS. Quicktime
on Apr 7, 2011 at 2:40:20 pm

[Michael sen Guttsen] "My question is: would I gain any render speed if I used PNG sequences for imported clips and pre-renders, over quicktime movies."

I always use image sequences when working on large-format projects like these, but not because of any performance difference. With an image sequence, if a small part of a pre-render needs to change, you only need to re-render the affected frame range. With movies, you'd have to re-render the entire thing.

[Michael sen Guttsen] "I'm a usually a Mac but my PC tech is telling me quicktime is too hard on the system to work well. PNGs are the only format that really works with AE."

This is categorically untrue.

[Michael sen Guttsen] "He even suggests that vectors must be converted to PNGs in order to work efficiently in CS5."

This is terrible advice. Premature rasterization is the root of all evil.