ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

continuously rasterized layers in a precomp still coming up soft

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Joe Rice
continuously rasterized layers in a precomp still coming up soft
on Mar 24, 2011 at 4:25:21 pm

So i have some text layers that i imported from illustrator and they are all in precomps with CR turned on. now when i animate the camera in my master comp and move the camera closer (not increasing zoom)than say -400px things start to get out of focus and have soft edges. i have some really small text and want to get in close but it's a huge pain in the butt to scale because i have everything laid out in the 2d space and i need each word to be in the same place in relation to everything else, if that makes any sense. so is there an easier fix like adjusting the camera settings? im relatively new to after effects (probably 50-75 hours spent working with cameras and 3d layers and similar things), so i don't know how to tweak the camera settings perfectly yet, if you can even do what i need to do. thanks for any help you can offer

Return to posts index

Michael Szalapski
Re: continuously rasterized layers in a precomp still coming up soft
on Mar 24, 2011 at 4:54:31 pm

Do you have the continuously rasterize switch turned on for the precomp too?

- The Great Szalam
(The 'Great' stands for 'Not So Great, in fact, Extremely Humble')

No trees were harmed in the creation of this message, but several thousand electrons were mildly inconvenienced.

Return to posts index

Jeremy Allen
on Mar 24, 2011 at 5:36:11 pm

Because you say "out of focus", is "Depth of Field" enabled on the camera? Double-click the camera in the comp layers to see its settings..

---------------------------------------------
8core MacPro, 3.0 GHZ, 10GB RAM, OSX 10.5.8

C4D 11.5
AE CS5
FCP 7.0.3

Return to posts index

Joe Rice
on Mar 24, 2011 at 8:51:23 pm