ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

visualizing decibel number on after effects

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
harry krekvisualizing decibel number on after effects
by on Mar 20, 2011 at 6:29:55 pm

hi there, i'm a newbie here, first post.

i 'd like to ask if anyone knows of a way i can visualize the decibel value of an audio track.
This is NOT about visualizing the waveform of the audio track, i've already managed that through Effects>Generate>Audio Waveform.

What I want, is a three digit number, like a counter, that changes real time, corresponding to the content of the audio track. Kinda like what the waveform does, only in the form of a number that is altering all the time.

any ideas?

thanks in advance!

Return to posts index

Walter SoykaRe: visualizing decibel number on after effects
by on Mar 21, 2011 at 11:47:08 am

Check out Trapcode SoundKeys [link].

Walter Soyka
Principal & Designer at Keen Live
Motion Graphics, Widescreen Events, Presentation Design, and Consulting
RenderBreak Blog - What I'm thinking when my workstation's thinking
Creative Cow Forum Host: Live & Stage Events

Return to posts index

Roland R. KahlenbergRe: visualizing decibel number on after effects
by on Mar 21, 2011 at 1:57:56 pm

Trapcode Soundkeys is ultra good BUT if you want a quick way to do this, you can link the audio values to the Source Text property of a Text Layer.

If you stick the following Expression to a Text Layer's Source Text Property, you will obtain values between 030 and 999.

To always have only 3 digits, values lower than 10 will have two leading zeros. Values between 12 and 99 will have one leading zero while values greater than 1000 will be reduced to 999.

I've added a Scalar variable to allow you to easily scale the original audio values to suit your needs - so, change the Scalar value to suit your needs.

// Start Script