ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Resizing a comp with 3D objetcs/camera movements: z dimension issue

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Carlo Sirtori
Resizing a comp with 3D objetcs/camera movements: z dimension issue
on Mar 18, 2011 at 7:14:00 pm

Hello,

I'm quite new at AE and your forum helped me out many times recently (I had issues to which your experts had already answered). So, first off, thanks!

Now, I have a question I haven't found and answer to yet. Here is the story:

I built a S3D-rig in AE (two cameras attached to a null object, basically) to obtain stereoscopic 3D footage.

To put it simple, my project consists of a series of flat layers put in Z space and of this 3D-rig moving back and forward through them.

The layers are created through masks covering parts of one same footage. Since the footage I had, when I started the project, was 720p, I created 1280*720 compositions.

Now, I found for the final render of my project 1080p footage (it would be long to explain why now and why not before...). I tried to resize my compositions to full HD dimensions and it seemed to work pretty good: I was afraid that replacing the footage and resizing the comps would kill all the work done with my masks... still, I have two major issues:

- the text layers did not adapt to the new comp size, so I should resize them one by one (that's not a huge nightmare, though)
- this one is really tough: while all X and Y movements of my 3D-rig and layers positions adapted to the new comp size, the Z values remained exactly the same of the 720p version...

I'm not a big expert, but I guess it makes sense: AE is not exactly a 3D oriented software and Z dimension looks more like a bonus feature than an essential one. But still, maybe you guys can help me address this (if I had to go through changing all Z values... well, I could just not do that).