ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Issue that research on many sites didn't resolve.

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Andrew RonholmIssue that research on many sites didn't resolve.
by on Mar 12, 2011 at 6:44:41 pm

Hi there, I'm fairly new to After Effects, and I've been having a problem that I've done a lot of research on found many of the same answers, but still have found no answer to why this is happening. Or how to make it work.

I'm just trying to make a video or a image sequence with the background transparent[ie alpha or straight alpha channel]. Now I've done quite a bit of research and I keep getting the same answers. Check the box or boxes "Alpha Channel" and "Straight Alpha Channel". Render it in QT, Tiff, [I think TARGA aswell] or PNG. Now I tried both check boxes with all three formats, and imported them into after effects and photoshop. I still get that black background, and when I key it out-which is what I had to do in one of my videos with my own made green screen. Which you can see in my work at you can see a black halo around pieces in the video of the enterprise, and half transparent pieces in the planet shattering. I've checked the footage, it is millions of colours +, it does prompt me to choose in AE when I import it, and of course I choose premultiplied with colour black. But it still shows a black bg when I drag it on to my comp.

Now I think I've tried every type of format possible, and I'd like to think I've tried everything but if I really had, shouldn't it be working by now? I'm really not sure cause I'm still learning. I just want to be able to composite properly without having to make my own green or blue screen in C4D for the render.