ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

A common problem that is apparently really uncommon. At my wits end, and have tried almost everything.

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Andrew Ronholm
A common problem that is apparently really uncommon. At my wits end, and have tried almost everything.
on Mar 12, 2011 at 3:10:02 am

Hi there, I'm fairly new to After Effects, and I've been having a problem that I've done a lot of research on and still have found no answer to.

Ok....

I'm just trying to make a video or a image sequence with the background transparent. Now I've done quite a bit of research and I keep getting the same answers. Check the box or boxes "Alpha Channel" and "Straight Alpha Channel". Render it in QT, Tiff, or PNG. Now I tried both check boxes with all three formats, and imported them into after effects. I still get that black background, and when I key it out-which is what I had to do in one of my videos. Which you can see in my work at http://www.enigmaticstudios.net/ you can see a black halo around pieces in the video. I've checked the footage, it is millions of colours +, it does prompt me to choose in AE when I import it, and of course I choose premultiplied with colour black. But it still shows a black bg when I drag it on to my comp.

Now I think I've tried every type of format possible, and I'd like to think I've tried everything but I'm really not sure cause I'm still learning. I just want to be able to composite properly without having to make my own green or blue screen in C4D for the render. I've even imported one of the PNG images from the sequence into photoshop where it should've been transparent and it was stil black.

Please I'm at the end of my wits here, I feel I've tried everything, and this is seriously holding back my learning process. I mean I do enjoy a challenge, but life would be much easier without having to key it out.