ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

How to export Hi Rez Jpg in After Effects???

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Tiff McGinnis
How to export Hi Rez Jpg in After Effects???
on Feb 28, 2011 at 7:41:06 am

Hello!

I am an audio/ visual artist using Flash & After Effects. I need to export an image sequence of my latest work in Hi Resolution asap!! But every time I do it, It exports at 72 dpi... I've looked around in preferences and export settings, but can find anything?? Is there a secret magic button somewhere I can hit 300 dpi?? Please help me!! Thanks!

Tiff McGinnis

http://www.vimeo.com/crazygirltv

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
Re: How to export Hi Rez Jpg in After Effects???
on Feb 28, 2011 at 3:19:56 pm

After Effects doesn't know about the concept of Dots Per Inch. Photoshop does. AE only knows about pixels (aka the Dots in DPI). So if you want to do a Save Frame As operation in AE, you too have to think in terms of pixels.

Simply do the arithmetic.

For example: a 10-inch-wide still image at 300 dpi would be 3,000 pixels wide. You can always tell Photoshop that a 72 dpi image is actually 300 dpi. Just make sure you actually have the "d's" to justify doing so.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Tiff McGinnis
on Feb 28, 2011 at 3:40:35 pm

I did blow it up to around 3000 by 2500.. they are vector animations i do in flash, so changing the size doesn't seem to effect the quality in AE4.. but when i saved frame as & then opened it in photo shop... it was 72dpi ... i changed it to 300dpi, but when i blew it up to 100%, it was very poor blurry resolution.. and i need screen grabs of my video work to be printed in a book... know any software that will take a hi rez screen grab??

Thanx Dave!!

tiff mcginnis

http://www.vimeo.com/crazygirltv

Return to posts index

Michael Szalapski
on Feb 28, 2011 at 4:32:17 pm