ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

VIdeo Glitches when exporting AVI's out of AE CS5

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Cindy WellerVIdeo Glitches when exporting AVI's out of AE CS5
by on Feb 24, 2011 at 6:46:56 pm

I have been working in CS5 for a couple of months now and I keep having problems when I export out an AVI File. It Glitches. Either black or static shows up half way or a quarter of the way up the screen for one frame, it starting to get very annoying. To get around the problem I have to export the file several times and edit them together. Very time consuming. The files are very complex, 60 plus layers with many pre-composed files built in. The ram usage stays around 60% while exporting and I try not to do anything else on the computer at the same time. I have an HP 6gig of ram quad core processor so I believe I should have the power in the machine to do the export. Is there a setting I can change to keep the quality. (oh I'm working with HD 1920 x 1080p video files). My normal process is to export out of AE and then import into either Avid Express Pro or Premiere Pro and then export as a Quick Time H.264.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
C

Return to posts index

Kevin CampRe: VIdeo Glitches when exporting AVI's out of AE CS5
by on Feb 24, 2011 at 7:44:10 pm

which version of ae are you using? and what codec are you encoding your avi in... dv, uncompressed, etc..?

also, make sure you have the latest update for your version (the latest update for cs5 fixed many issues, so if you have cs5 make sure ae is version 10.0.1).