ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Color Correcting Yellow Footage

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jake mendez
Color Correcting Yellow Footage
on Feb 14, 2011 at 8:14:02 pm

So, this footage was shot on a red camera, and I am having to make do for 1 shot, with the un-color corrected footage. The rest was done at a finishing house and looks great, i just need to get this 1 shot close to that. I studied a previous post with the same issue, and results were better but still very off.

http://forums.creativecow.net/thread/2/901354

ive played around with the channel mixer some but cant get it looking quite right. can anyone shed some light on this or which specific numbers i should tweek? been messing with it for a while but with so many separate parameters it is taking a while. Here is the yellow shot, and a color corrected shot from the finishing house. thanks in advance.

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
Re: Color Correcting Yellow Footage
on Feb 14, 2011 at 8:49:04 pm

It would probably be a lot easier to being this into Color Finesse, which comes bundled with AE.
There are even a few tutorials on the topic of Color Finesse by Andrew Devis here on the COW -- go check 'em out.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Tudor "Ted" Jelescu
on Feb 15, 2011 at 4:06:49 pm

Your color corrected shot will never look exactly like the one from the post house. Maybe if you would use the same software on the same system it was color corrected on you may be able to get close, but color correction involves a lot more than just mixing channels or playing with a soft/plugin like Color Finesse. There may be masks involved, layers of separate adjustments and in the end the eye of the person that does the correction. If you need a perfect match get the color corrected shot from the same place and do your effects on it.