ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

keying out a moving object

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
peter crawfordkeying out a moving object
by on Feb 3, 2011 at 8:38:33 am

Would hugely appreciate any advice.

I've been given some time lapse footage of a flower opening (against a multi coloued background), and my client would like thie flower to be keyed out.

I have experience with keying well shot blue/green screens using FCP, MOTION, COLOUR AND A EFFECTS, but am unsure how to do this with footage not shot against a proper screen.

Is this Rotoscoping I need to learn abbout or is there an easier way to simply travk a mask in one of the prior mentioned programmes. I am new to AE.

Thank You

Pete Crawford

paxpincer

Return to posts index

Cassius MarquesRe: keying out a moving object
by on Feb 3, 2011 at 12:17:09 pm

does the background change at any time? is it moving? if it's not and the colors don't match exactly, you can try and get a clean plate of that background and use a difference matte to key out the flower pretty much automatic. Even though it's a bit rough effect for my taste.

A few screen shots of your footage could help us see the best option.

But I'm imagining that rotoscoping would be the way to go.

Return to posts index

Tudor "Ted" JelescuRe: keying out a moving object
by on Feb 3, 2011 at 12:22:27 pm

It sounds like a job for Roto Brush - check out Adobe help and feature tour.
You could also try Roto with Mocha.

Tudor "Ted" Jelescu
Senior VFX Artist

Return to posts index

Michael SzalapskiRe: keying out a moving object
by on Feb 3, 2011 at 2:29:02 pm

You could certainly try Roto Brush. I'd recommend going to this page [link] first before you try to use it. It's not a very intuitive tool and you can end up frustrated.