ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

After effects render problem

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
gemma amosAfter effects render problem
by on Feb 2, 2011 at 4:50:07 pm

Hello there,

I was looking for some help in regards to after effects, I am a 2D cut out animator, generally using AE for my animation needs.

However recently I have been having problems rendering.

It seems that when I render, as quicktime or targa sequences, the positioning of my layers jumps, from position to position, also some layers are getting stuck in one position.

For example, I have a head turning, his head turns but his eyes are still stuck looking forward.

When I have previewed this in AE the animation looks fine, it is only when I render.

I have tried rendering as different formats and qualities, however the same issue arises.

Also all my comps are the same frame rate, 25fps and so is the setting when I render.

I am running AE on a Mac book pro with 4gb of ram and a 2.5ghz intel core 2 duo with 100GB of space.
Plus the comp is only 30 secs long so its not a biggy and doesnt have lots of layers!

So I dont understand why this is happening.

Any help would be much appreciated, as I am now resulting into rendering out all my precomps and rebuilding the animation.

Return to posts index

Joey ForemanRe: After effects render problem
by on Feb 2, 2011 at 6:12:00 pm

Are you on CS4?
I've been running into a similar problem when rotoscoping in CS4 on my MB Pro. We both have inadequate RAM, and I suspect that might be a contributing factor, though I never experienced it with CS3.
My 1st fix was to switch to 16 or 32 bpc.
This helped out a bit, for some reason, but ultimately I had to render in segments.
Fortunately my destination was FCP, so I was able to stitch the clips together.
In my case the roto masks were slipping during render.