ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

CS5 and XDCAM EX

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Steven Nichols
CS5 and XDCAM EX
on Jan 14, 2011 at 2:52:49 pm

I am working on a project with XDCAM EX footage and some clips can't just be imported in After FX. I get this error message: "After Effects error: Error (4) reading frame from file" (86:2)".
It's only a couple of clips that just play fine in FCP or QT player. I have been working with XDCAM EX for 3 years now and never had a problem until I upgraded to CS5 :( Any idea ? It looks like AE can't see the file as a valid .mov file, because if I look at the codec it says MPEG and not XDCAM EX as it should be. I've tried to delete the clip and re-import it with FCP, but it did not change anything.

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
Re: CS5 and XDCAM EX
on Jan 14, 2011 at 5:16:32 pm

If you haven't run the free update to AE 10.0.1, do it now.

Then understand that XDCam is compressed using mpeg compression.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Steven Nichols
on Jan 14, 2011 at 5:49:12 pm

I have the latest version available.

I know that XDCAM EX is indeed MPEG-2 encapsuled as an MP4 file. When you import it with FCP it is converted to QT with the XDCAM EX codec.

But that does not explain why AE does not see some file as QT but still as MPEG file (that seems to be the problem). I tried that on another machine and it worked fine. This happens on a 12-core Mac Pro. When MP rendering is not enabled, it seems to get a little better... So I suspect a hardware bug.

Anyone had this kind of trouble ?

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
on Jan 14, 2011 at 9:16:44 pm

I don't think AE can see QT's XDCam EX codec for some reason. Are you running QT 7 or QT 10, which can only be described as a work in progress?

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer

Return to posts index

Steven Nichols