ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Stutter-jerkiness on horizontal scrolling animation

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Shawn MarshallStutter-jerkiness on horizontal scrolling animation
by on Jan 14, 2011 at 2:49:17 am

I've been using After Effects professionally since 1997, but my current problem is really stumping me. For the life of me, I can't get some recent, fairly simple animations created in AE CS4 to play back smoothly.

The troublesome sections both have full screen or almost full screen right-to-left motion. One has stock photos, text, graphical textures and blocks of color moving screen right to left. Another has text over blocks of color and website screen grabs arranged in 3D space, all parented to a null that's moving linearly right to left at around 1440 pixels/sec.

What happens during both RAM previews in AE and rendered Quicktimes is that the motion will appear smooth much of the time, but as certain elements come on the screen from the right the playback will stutter, then go smooth again, like it's choking. The framerate is 29.97fps, frame-rendered. One comp is 1080x720, another is 1920x1080. I tried rendering one at 59.94, but the problem persists; the higher frame rate just makes the smoother parts play smoother. I have motion blur on and set to 180°.

In the RAM preview, where and when the stutter happens varies slightly each time it plays. Pretty much the same thing happens in Quicktime player with the Animation, ProRes4444, Photo JPEG and h.264 codecs. The animations appear to play marginally better in FCP.

This is NOT judder, which would be consistent throughout the motion. The stutter comes and goes, generally as complex images move in from the right.