ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Open question to AE artists

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Adam HendersonOpen question to AE artists
by on Jan 11, 2011 at 9:31:02 am

Hello everyone.

I'm currently in my 3rd year at university, studying for a BA (Hons) is TV and Media Practice. My dissertation subject is about the evolution of computer visual effects over the last 30 years and I just came across something which made me curious. Homour me, if you will. How many of you know what I'm talking about if I mention the following seven attributes?

(1) initial position,
(2) initial velocity (both speed and direction),
(3) initial size,
(4) initial colour,
(5) initial transparency,
(6) shape,
(7) lifetime.

Thanks for your time.

Return to posts index

John CuevasRe: Open question to AE artists
by on Jan 11, 2011 at 2:24:01 pm

Are we supposed to answer? But yes, I do know what type of system those 7 properties are from.

Johnny Cuevas, Editor

Return to posts index

Joseph W. BourkeRe: Open question to AE artists
by on Jan 11, 2011 at 2:24:40 pm

Hi Adam -

Well, from the clues inherent in the terminology of the list, it obviously has to do with parameters of animation, possibly particle systems, or sprites.

As soon as you say "initial" you imply that there will be a second state for at least 1 - 5. Is this a test of the august membership of the Cow?

Joe Bourke
Owner/Creative Director
Bourke Media

Return to posts index

Joey ForemanRe: Open question to AE artists
by on Jan 11, 2011 at 3:39:54 pm

Sounds like attributes of a particle in a particle generation system.

Oops, I didn't read the other responses before posting, so it sounds like I stole their answer.

Joey Foreman
Editor/Compositor/VFX Artist

Return to posts index

Michael SzalapskiRe: Open question to AE artists
by on Jan 11, 2011 at 6:51:12 pm