ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Mixing Pixel Aspect Ratios and Aspect Ratios

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Eric HartmannMixing Pixel Aspect Ratios and Aspect Ratios
by on Jan 10, 2011 at 5:25:39 pm

I have a project that is mixing footage of different aspect ratios and pixel aspect ratios. Some of the video is 1280x720 (1.00) and some is 704x478 (089). I am out of my mind confused on how to set up the project so it comes out right. At this time, it is just going out as video for web, but I am guessing at some point it'll wind up on a DVD. So my initial instinct was to fit it to NTSC DV 720 x 780 (0.91) (adjusting scale constraining proportions to fit that aspect ratio) so it would work on a DVD in the future. But when I rendered it all of the clips look stretched horizontally. This is my first project working from sent footage not captured from tape I shot myself, and I'll admit I am floundering a bit. Can anyone help?

Return to posts index

Tudor "Ted" JelescuRe: Mixing Pixel Aspect Ratios and Aspect Ratios
by on Jan 10, 2011 at 8:31:42 pm

I would recommend bringing everything to square pixel aspect ratio- work in a project that has a square par and resize all material to fit. This way you can make sure no distortion will appear- then render out applying a stretch ( ex- work in 768x576 and render stretched to 720x576 - PAL D1).

Tudor "Ted" Jelescu
Senior VFX Artist

Return to posts index

Eric HartmannRe: Mixing Pixel Aspect Ratios and Aspect Ratios
by on Jan 10, 2011 at 9:11:59 pm

OK, I think that makes sense. But I would be exporting NTSC for DVD not PAL, so if I am following: I should work in NTSC D1 square-pixel 720x534 (1.0)? That way I can publish later to 720x486 (0.91) for DVD, and as is for computer output?

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Mixing Pixel Aspect Ratios and Aspect Ratios
by on Jan 10, 2011 at 9:29:34 pm