ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Changing Comp Size Without Loosing Resolution?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Zevie Tannenbaum
Changing Comp Size Without Loosing Resolution?
on Jan 9, 2011 at 9:49:02 am

I'v posted here before, but hopefully I make more sense now. I'm new to all this, so please understand...

Problem

I recorded my screen, 1680x1050, dragged the video into a new comp and then animated some stuff with photoshop files.. I then export the movie using After Effects and the quality is great. The problem I'm having is that I'm working on a 720x480 timeline in Final Cut Pro and when I drag the exported AE movie, the quality drastically drops. I understand that the timeline I'm working is less then half the quality of the exported comp.

Attempts to Fix Problem

The first thing I tried doing was making a brand new comp in after effects, 720x480 and then pre-comping the original comp, 1680x1050 and then scaling it to fit, but then again I loose quality.

I tried using programs that convert from HD to SD (I'm on a mac by the way), didn't work

* The only way I can seem to get the right quality in Final Cut, is creating a new timeline and dragging the 1680x1050 video, but then I can't use all the video I've worked with on my 720x480 timeline.

If you can please respond quickly, I have a deadline coming up.

Thanks,
Zevie

Return to posts index

Tudor "Ted" Jelescu
Re: Changing Comp Size Without Loosing Resolution?
on Jan 9, 2011 at 10:42:01 am

It's quite confusing because I do not understand what the actual problem is. If your final project is 720x480, then there's no resolution loss- you bring in the higher rez files from AE and scale them down- you get better image quality. The only issue would be if you work on 720x480 for some reason and you want to scale up to HD or something af the sort. Then you would loose resolution.