ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

how much RAM for 12-core

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Brad Busséhow much RAM for 12-core
by on Jan 5, 2011 at 10:17:01 pm

I'm ordering a dodeca core Mac Pro, either 2.66 or 2.93 (I'm not sure the $1200 difference is worth the less than 10% speed difference). I'll be working on 720p scenes, but they'll probably be heavy with FX like Particular, and integrating 3D elements with dynamic lights, etc. I'm a video producer who will be splitting my time between filming, editing, motion graphics, and some sound design. The motion graphics part I'll be jumping into as soon as I get the Mac Pro, so I want to make sure I have enough RAM. I'm considering jumping back into 3D again to, just to integrate into my motion graphics work. I know Maya well so I may go with that, but I've demoed Cinema 4D, and I like the speed at which you can work with dynamics, etc.

So, should I start with 4 8GB sticks of RAM for a total of 32GB? Will that be enough, or should I start with 48GB? I've seen a couple of tests showing how much AE renders slow down when there isn't enough RAM, but they never seem to test how much things speed up when you have, say 64GB of RAM vs. 32GB.

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: how much RAM for 12-core
by on Jan 5, 2011 at 10:30:50 pm

[Brad Bussé] "...I'm not sure the $1200 difference is worth the less than 10% speed difference..."

I'm inclined to say no: it isn't worth it.

[Brad Bussé] "So, should I start with 4 8GB sticks of RAM for a total of 32GB? Will that be enough, or should I start with 48GB? "

Have you gotten a look at the following? It clears up a lot of confusion:
http://blogs.adobe.com/toddkopriva/2010/10/please-try-recommended-memory-se...

The bottom line in AE: the more RAM, the better... but I wouldn't mind having 32GB myself! I only have 24 GB. And my machine at work limps by on a measly 8 GB.