ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

After Effects Color Pipeline

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Matt KorshisAfter Effects Color Pipeline
by on Jan 5, 2011 at 1:24:10 pm

I am currently doing the post production for a short film. Basically it is my first project of this scale and am learning as I go. I spent days reading forums, tutorials etc etc on post production workflow prior to commencing the edit. I still have many questions, a lot of them are in regard to the grade/colour correction and making sure I am not losing picture quality throughout my pipeline. Below are the details of the workflow I have chosen. Any comments or suggestions would be greatly appreciated as I feel like I am in slightly over my head.

The footage is RED 4K. I am using CS5(Windows). The DOP will do colour correction/grade in Apple Color. The final output will be 2K.

- I have started the project directly in Premiere CS5 with the RED RAW format. Skipped using REDCINE-X for any middle man carry on.

- Within Premiere I have linked audio back to the clips, then edited the film together.

- While editing in Premiere I have also been working on several VFX shots for the film in After Effects.

- When the edit is done I will open the Premiere project in After Effects and insert the VFX shots + do any reframing + down size to 2K. Output from After Effects as a DPX sequence.

-DOP will use DPX files in Apple Color for the grade. He will then return it to me for a final render with sound etc.

- For the pro’s out there are then any glaring mistakes that are going to trip me over somewhere in the process?

- Should there be any kind of colour correction/grade/sharpen etc etc earlier in the process than what I have?