ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

New computer for After Effects CS5

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Trey DillenNew computer for After Effects CS5
by on Dec 16, 2010 at 5:59:19 am

Hey All,

I'm a student in college right now and have recently had the urge to begin learning after effects. I bought myself a Power Mac G5 about 5-6 years ago to learn Final Cut Pro before college. Well unfortunately, that Power Mac is pretty outdated and can't take anything but CS3 at this point. I've decided to get a new computer, but I want to make sure I get the right computer for me. I don't want to get an iMac and not be satisfied with performance, but I also don't want to go all out and spend $8,000 on a mac pro when I don't really need it. So my question is, what do you think I should go with considering I'll be working with HDV? (keep in mind I already have monitors to use if I went the mac pro way)

My understanding from reading recently is that because after effects is a 64-bit application now, it can use up to 3 gb of RAM per core. So with an iMac, your limited to (at MAX) 12 gb of usable RAM. Plus, your paying for a display and slim form factor when I don't really need either. With a mac pro, I could potentially have enough money to splurge for an 8-core. With the 8-core, I could load up the ram and have 24gb of usable RAM. I'm not sure if this matters all that much, but eventually want to be running 3d programs like maya and c4d.

In the end, do I need the Mac pro and all that RAM for AE CS5 to run smoothly (rotoscoping and such with hdv), or will I be just fine with a quad-core iMac or Mac Pro?

Return to posts index

Michael SzalapskiRe: New computer for After Effects CS5
by on Dec 16, 2010 at 4:47:37 pm