ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Any tipps for teaching a class with different skill levels?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Simon RuschmeyerAny tipps for teaching a class with different skill levels?
by on Nov 5, 2010 at 5:11:04 pm

Hey Everyone!

I'm teaching an after effects course for beginners. At the first meeting it turned ou that not all the students are total newbies to AE, so when I was presenting a step by step lesson, the newbies sometimes couldnt follow when I was moving along too fast, while the experienced people were bored the whole time. Well, I think it's a general problem with teaching software classes and there supposedly is no sulotion but maybe some of you can share experiences or have tipps?

My plan so far is:
- encourage the experienced students to bring their own projects to the course, so they can work on those when they allready know the basic techniques I am teaching to the beginners.
- I will record the lessons before the seminar and make them available to the course so if a student cannot catch up with my pace in the seminar he/she can look up the lesson again.

What do you think? Any more suggestions?
I would appreciate it!
Best regards, Simon

Return to posts index

Roland R. KahlenbergRe: Any tipps for teaching a class with different skill levels?
by on Nov 6, 2010 at 6:36:17 am

I've just completed a couple of AE classes with Flint, Quantel eq, Discreet Smoke and FCP practitioners. I have trained approximately 300 folks in my various AE classes.

Your two-pronged plan is redundant and of course pathetic which is no different from your contribution here at the COW. Since Dec 04, 2004 you have posted seven Qs, including this one.