ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

12-core MacPro build advice

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Sean Kapleton12-core MacPro build advice
by on Nov 2, 2010 at 8:45:36 pm

Hello friends,

I just got some bad news that I need surgery and will be out of commission for 3-4 months recovering at home. I want to make the most of this winter recovering by building my skill-set before getting back into working in post. I have a 6 year old G5 at home and have been saving up for some time so needless to say for FCS3, CS5, Cinema, etc I will need a new computer! I waited for the new macpro and can no longer wait for usb 3 or lightpeak as I need to have a new box now considering i am not able to use the newer boxes I have had access to at work.

I am primarily an editor and colorist (Color) and I want to expand further into AE & C4D in order to be more creative and explore different opportunities both personal and professional. I am completely self-taught up to this point learning hands on in the field, and with the help of resources like the cow,, and other trainings.

My main question is about building a new 12-core home setup and advice on training because I am trying to make the most of my current health situation in order to better myself and my career. My hope is to come out of this in the spring a better post professional and artist.

I am thinking of this setup for home:

- Mac Pro 2010 2 x 2.66 Ghz 6-Core Intel Xeon (12 core)

OWC for RAM & Internal drives:

- Raid 0 internal - x3 2TB disks (Is there a brand / specific drive you guys would recommend or avoid?
- RAM - OWC's 8gb sticks x3 24gb or x4 32gb config (not sure if a specific # or distribution between sides effects certain apps?)

Any help or advice on these items would be greatly appreciated as I want to make the correct purchases (for my budget) and get it right the first time so I can get to learning asap!