ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Problem converting a FCP sequence into After Effects

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Rafael MosesProblem converting a FCP sequence into After Effects
by on Nov 2, 2010 at 5:18:50 pm

Hello All,

This is my first time posting on Creative Cow. Thanks in advance for taking the time to look at this post. My problem is as follows:

I have an edited sequence in Final Cut Pro. I want to bring the whole sequence into After Effects for color correction and other effects. I have a program called Automatic Duck Pro Import AE 4 that exports an XML file from FCP and then allows you to import this XML file in After Effects. When I attempt to import my XML file in AE I get an error message that reads: "field order must be set before 3:2 pull down can be removed," and the sequence does not open in After Effects.

The footage was shot on mini DV. I believe the footage was shot 24p but it shows up as 29.97fps in FCP, (I may have had wrong import settings when I originally captured footage). The field dominance is Lower (Even). I'm not sure if there are settings I need to set in FCP or in AE. Anyone have any ideas how to remedy this issue?

Rafael Moses

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Problem converting a FCP sequence into After Effects
by on Nov 2, 2010 at 7:47:38 pm

[Rafael Moses] "Anyone have any ideas how to remedy this issue?"

It is a very bad idea to leave footage shot at 24p as 29.97. A very bad idea indeed.

You should have removed the 3:2 pulldown in FCP BEFORE you began editing, and you should have edited in a 23.976 (aka 23.980 FCP edit timeline. I don't like being the bearer of bad news, but now you have to go back to Square One and remove the pulldown, and possibly re-edit. Sorry.