ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

4k codec

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Gary Roales
4k codec
on Oct 27, 2010 at 11:32:28 am

Hi all,

I am very new to motion graphics and video editing but, I can already do some pretty cool animation on After Effects (huge thanks to Andrew Kramer). It is the technical aspect of rendering that is where I go dumb.

I am already shortlisted in a company I am applying for which deals with motion advertisements. They have given me a second task to make another animated video test in 4k codec. I am done creating the 15 seconds video in After Effects at 3840x1440 at 29.97pfs and currently rendering it as uncompressed avi.

My question is how do I make it into 4k codec in after effects? If it cannot be done in after effects, what other software I need to use? I have Adobe Encore CS4 and Premiere Pro CS4. I don't know if they can be of any use in making 4k as I am totally a newbie and still learning the craft by myself. I really need to impress the company and they require me to do the movie test in 4K codec at 3840x1440.

Thanks in advance.

Return to posts index

Andy George
Re: 4k codec
on Oct 27, 2010 at 4:32:04 pm

Forgive me If im stating the obvious but it was a bit unclear in your post.

4K is not a codec it is a shorthand reference for the size of the image. (4096x2160)
2K would be around 2048x1080.

The most popular codec for these types of image sizes is probably Cineon/DPX. Tiff and openEXR are also common.

Rather than guess at what codec to use it might be easier to ask them what codec they can accept. This is the type of information that should come from the client.

-Andy George
Senior Editor
http://www.chiselindustries.com

Return to posts index

Gary Roales
on Oct 27, 2010 at 5:17:01 pm

Thanks Andy.