ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Simple layer expression to stagger animation

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jason BrownSimple layer expression to stagger animation
by on Oct 19, 2010 at 7:56:28 pm

I have 4 layers, expression pointed to the keyframed X rotation of a Null. I want them to follow the X rotation to flip up, but I'd like them to ripple...so I need to have them follow the rotation of the Null, with a seperation of a period of time.

Current expression:

thisComp.layer("Rotate up products").transform.xRotation

I have VERY LITTLE experience with expressions, but I need to do this several times, so I'd like to reuse this function.

Return to posts index

Walter SoykaRe: Simple layer expression to stagger animation
by on Oct 19, 2010 at 8:18:26 pm

[Jason Brown] "I have 4 layers, expression pointed to the keyframed X rotation of a Null. I want them to follow the X rotation to flip up, but I'd like them to ripple...so I need to have them follow the rotation of the Null, with a seperation of a period of time."

Check out Dan Ebberts's Motion Trails for an example and explanation of how to do this with valueAtTime.

Walter Soyka
Principal & Designer at Keen Live
Motion Graphics, Widescreen Events, Presentation Design, and Consulting
RenderBreak Blog - What I'm thinking when my workstation's thinking
Creative Cow Forum Host: Live & Stage Events

Return to posts index

Roland R. KahlenbergRe: Simple layer expression to stagger animation
by on Oct 20, 2010 at 3:48:52 am

AccK! I know this one Walter. ;-)

The following should do the trick. Just ensure that the entire scrpt is on a single line when you paste it in AE.
// script to create follower attributes for xRotation
//start script
thisComp.layer("Null 1").transform.xRotation.valueAtTime(time-(index*.1))
//end script